Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia
 

Music Events

20192020

Church of the Holy Comforter
543 Beulah Road, NE 
Vienna, VA 22180
Driving Directions

For more information on music programs, please contact David Kelley, Minister of Music.


2019


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, September 29 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Evensong followed by Reception

Sunday, October 6 at 5:00 p.m.

Adult Choir


The McLean Symphony*

Saturday, October 26 at 7:30 p.m.

Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 8
Sergei Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3


Voce Chamber Singers*

Sunday, October 27 at 4:00 p.m.

Eternal Light - Morten Lauridsen’s Lux Aeterna and works of Daniel Elder, Dan Forrest, Jonathan Dove, Owain Park and others


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, October 27 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Evening Mass of Remembrance

Thursday, November 7 at 7:30 p.m.

Holy Comforter Concert Series

Sunday, November 10 at 4:00 p.m.

Peabody Renaissance Chamber Ensemble - a select group of students from the Peabody Conservatory of Music in Baltimore, will present a program featuring music from the time of Leonardo da Vinci, to mark the 500th anniversary of his death in 1519.


Vienna Thanksgiving Service

Saturday, November 24 at 6:00 p.m.

The McLean Symphony*

Sunday, December 7 at 7:30 p.m.

Antonio Vivaldi Concerto for Two Trumpets featuring the Rev. Jon Strand, Rector; and parishioner Leslie Linn
Annual Sing-along of popular Songs and Carols


Advent Lessons and Carols

Sunday, December 8 at 5:00 p.m.

Voce Chamber Singers*

Saturday, December 14 at 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, December 15 at 4:00 p.m.

The Stars Looked Down - Works for chorus, organ, and brass, including Daniel Pinkham’s Christmas Cantata, popular carols, and contemporary seasonal works.


Christmas Eve Services

Tuesday, December 24 at 4:00, 7:00, and 10:00 p.m.

2020


Epiphany Choral Evensong

Monday, January 6 at 7:30 p.m.

Adult Choir and Choristers


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, January 26 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Evensong followed by Reception

Sunday, February 9 at 5:00 p.m.

Adult Choir


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, February 23 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Holy Comforter Concert Series

Sunday, March 1 at 4:00 p.m.

Trio Omnia - The internationally acclaimed Trio Omnia brings together pianist Anna Nizhegorodtseva (Russia), violinist Enrique Reynosa (Mexico), and cellist Dorotea Racz (Croatia), who will play works by Mendelssohn and Dvorak.


Evensong followed by Reception

Sunday, March 15 at 5:00 p.m.

Adult Choir


The McLean Symphony*

Sunday, March 28 at 7:30 p.m.

Chamber music (duos, trios, and small ensembles) featuring McLean Symphony musicians


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, March 29 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Palm Sunday

Sunday, April 5 at 9:00 and 11:15 a.m.

Maundy Thursday

Thursday April 9 at 7:00 p.m.

Adult Choir


Way of the Cross

Friday, April 10 at 12:10 p.m.

Compline Schola


Good Friday

Friday, April 10 at 7:00 p.m.

Compline Schola


Easter Day

Sunday, April 12 at 9:00 am and 11:15 a.m.

Choristers (9:00 a.m.), Adult Choir (11:15 a.m.)


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, April 26 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Voce Chamber Singers*

Saturday, May 16 at 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, May 17 at 4:00 p.m.

From Earth to Sky - Kevin Puts’s complete To Touch the Sky, alongside Randall Thompson’s beloved Frostiana, Ross Lee Finney’s Spherical Madrigals, and more.


Ascension Day: Choral Eucharist

Thursday, May 21 at 7:30 p.m.

Adult Choir and Choristers


The McLean Symphony*

Sunday, May 30 at 7:30 p.m.

Ludwig van Beethoven Leonore Overture No. 2
Francis Poulenc Concerto for Organ, Timpani, and Strings
Rodion Shchedrin Concerto No. 1 for Orchestra (“Naughty Limericks”)
Florence Price Symphony No. 3


Taizé Contemplative Worship

Sunday, May 31 at 5:00 p.m.

Taizé Ensemble


Evensong followed by Reception

Sunday, June 7 at 5:00 p.m.

Chichester Cathedral Residency Choir


Chichester Cathedreal Residency

August 3–9

* Concerts by Voce Chamber Singers and the McLean Symphony are ticketed events.